• Welcome to The Valparaiso Beacons Fan Zone Forum.

President Heckler's Welcome Speech to New Students criticized

Started by bbtds, September 27, 2017, 09:25:54 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

bbtds

I happened across this Letter to the Editor in this morning's (Wed) NWI Times while looking at it online.

http://www.nwitimes.com/opinion/letters/valpo-u-president-turned-welcoming-speech-into-anti-trump-rant/article_65044557-0447-5080-9bd2-a5122f8538ea.html

I had the opportunity to listen to Valparaiso University President Mark Heckler's speech to all the new students.

He started his speech off in a pleasant manner and progressively turned his welcome speech into his own political rally against President Donald Trump. I have never heard Trump endorse the Ku Klux Klan, neo-Nazis or any other white supremacist organizations.

I am a retired firefighter and upset he took the right as a university president and so-called pillar of our community to be able to direct his own personal feelings on new independent young adults.

Shame on him. I really don't believe he has that right from that position, whether I supported or did not support our current president. I believe the freedom of speech is still alive but should not be used by someone in his position welcoming new students to higher education.

Tom Steindler, Valparaiso

https://www.facebook.com/tom.steindler

Is President Heckler too anti-Trump?

valpopal