• Welcome to The Valparaiso Beacons Fan Zone Forum.

Scores of Interest and Amusement

Started by Valpower, November 13, 2015, 10:40:18 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valpower

I thought I would start this topic for scores that are discussion-worthy, but aren't Horizon League related, necessarily.  As we experience this season with unrealistically-high expectations, we'll no doubt be in need of the kind of perspective that only stepping out of the Horizon League can provide.  To kick it off, Western Illinois beat #17 Wisconsin, Belmont beat Marquette, and Green Bay has currently taken Stanford to OT.

VULB#62

Valpower

#2 Kentucky beats Albany by only 13 points.  Albany is no slouch as they were tabbed to finish 2nd in the America East conference, but they are in the 29th-ranked (RPI) America East conference.

ValpoHoops

Valpower

Quote from: ValpoHoops on November 14, 2015, 09:28:22 PM
Butler scored 144 today
As a former DePauw student, I'm glad they finally beat someone as badly as they beat us (115).  This surely fits in to the "amusement" category, though.

agibson

I've been pleased to see some of Alec's quotes. That he thinks we need to mdindtat extra gear to finish an opponent like that (ok, maybe not 144 - but I wouldn't complain about a 20 point win sometime). And that he thinks we have the personnel and talent for a deep tourney run .

VULB#62

Quote from: Valpower on November 14, 2015, 11:50:16 PM
Quote from: ValpoHoops on November 14, 2015, 09:28:22 PM
Butler scored 144 today
As a former DePauw student, I'm glad they finally beat someone as badly as they beat us (115).  This surely fits in to the "amusement" category, though.

And they beat up on a D-I team -- The Citadel.

valporun

Something to hang your hat on, beating up on a military school. Of course, I hope The Citadel enjoyed their pay day.

talksalot