• Welcome to The Valparaiso Beacons Fan Zone Forum.

VU Hoops Band

Started by tiny707, March 19, 2020, 10:56:12 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

tiny707

So if you had to put a band together...who? I have Daniel Sackey on drums and JFL on vocals so far.

NativeCheesehead

And we're only on like week one of this, what's this board going to look like in 6 weeks?

vuny98

The world is ending and you are asking trivial questions like this?!?!?!

And Mileek on the bass.

vu84v2

Ryan Fazekas on lead guitar. He has a sort of Trey Anastasio look and vibe going for him.

VU2014

Quote from: Pgmado on January 18, 2022, 11:46:58 PM
Quote from: NativeCheesehead on January 18, 2022, 10:34:54 PM
Absolutely not on the music department. Should be on the Athletic department.

If there aren't students to do it, there aren't students to do it. I get frustrated that the campus radio station isn't staffed the majority of the day like it was when I was a student. It's just not a reality. Students have other interests now than they did before. I don't know much about the pep band situation, but I do know that things change and evolve on a college campus, frustrating as that may be.

I've suggested it before but the University should make the Pep Band worth half a Credit or 1 Credit and the participation would go way up.

I've heard that the Music Department thinks the Pep Band is beneath them and were chapped at the idea.

I'd make it a Freshman year Music requirement. Typically Freshman year is just mostly general education classes and students don't really get too involved with Major's department until sophomore year, but having the 1 credit requirement for Pep Band would expose the freshman to the Basketball and create a culture/habit of going to the games. The Athletics Department would get a consistent band, fill the band section, talented musicians. The Music Department would get to know the Freshman from year 1.