• Welcome to The Valparaiso Beacons Fan Zone Forum.

Grades for each Program

Started by Valpo14, October 09, 2023, 01:47:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Valpo14

As a middle school teacher I thought it would be informative to ask what you think each of our sports programs grades are:
I understand it's not fair for the non scholarship programs ( or the ones with very few) to be graded the same as our fully funded so please adjust accordingly
Mine:
A programs
Men's Golf
B programs
Soccer Volleyball Tennis
C programs
Football ( men's basketball?) Baseball
D programs ( I admittedly don't know much about scholarships etc..)
Track/CC/Swimming/
D programs with scholarships
Women's Basketball
Softball
Women's Golf
I prefer not to give an F in my classroom

VULB#62

I'm replying in the context of since joining the MVC

NOTE 1:  I believe that Valpo gives admission preference to athletes and is probably more liberal with need-based financial aid to make enrollment more enticing for any non-athletic scholarship or partial athletic scholarship athlete.

NOTE 2:  Number in parentheses before each sport is the NCAA D-I maximum allowed. I.e., a D-I school is not required to give any athletic scholarships with the exception of MBB and WBB that must be funded by head-count and non-divisible. I believe all other athletic scholarship numbers are equivalency numbers allowing for dividing the money among more athletes than the max number.   

* Designates Valpo programs (to my knowledge) that have some athletic scholarship money in their budget (but may not be at NCAA D-I max). If there is no * then I believe that financial aid is purely based on need like football.

** Fully funded athletic scholarships to NCAA max.

A PROGRAMS
(4.5) MG - damn good every year
(14) WSO* - first team to get an MVC regular season title ever (might be a ** after they dropped MSO and could have moved the few MSO partial schollies to the women's program)

B PROGRAMS