• Welcome to The Valparaiso Beacons Fan Zone Forum.

Faculty buyout initiative announced

Started by wh, January 27, 2022, 04:14:48 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

usc4valpo

very smart move for both sides - but I feel this program could be alive a couple more times during Padilla's tenure.

wh

Quote from: usc4valpo on January 27, 2022, 11:36:44 AM
very smart move for both sides - but I feel this program could be alive a couple more times during Padilla's tenure.

Unfortunately, I have some experience with this. At this point, Padilla and the Board already have a predetermined number of staff cuts that need to be made to balance the budget within a given timeframe. Offering voluntary retirement packages is a typical benevolent first step to make reductions as painless as possible for everyone involved. Management has to be VERY careful to not make anyone eligible for a package feel pressured in any way. For example, no one can say, suggest, or even hint to someone that if they don't take the package, they will be costing someone else their job (even though it could be true). Once the deadline passes, you transition to involuntary terminations, ususally with some sort of severance allowance, although it isn't mandatory in many states unless there is a labor agreement involved. It is a miserable, demoralizing time for everyone involved, that lasts long after the cuts are made. There's only one way to look at it. It's like a cargo ship adrift at sea taking on water. At some point you have to start throwing cargo overboard to lighten the load long enough to get a patch in place before the entire ship goes down. It isn't for the faint of heart.

usc4valpo

wh  - hope I didn't sound like a real jerk. if it is voluntary, the package is generous and that's it, then it is not a bad idea. But OMG - If it leads to involuntary, then it really sucks - I went through this with my old company in 2020, resulting in lost trust and empathy.

usc4valpo