• Welcome to The Valparaiso Beacons Fan Zone Forum.

And live Sports Begin Today (Thank Goodness)

Started by vu72, August 18, 2022, 07:52:59 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vu72

Soccer opens the athletic school year this afternoon with Volleyball close behind!  We finally have something else to discuss beyond mascots! ;D
Season Results: CBI/CIT: 2008, 2011, 2014  NIT: 2003,2012, 2016(Championship Game) 2017   NCAA: 1962,1966,1967,1969,1973,1996,1997,1998 (Sweet Sixteen),1999, 2000, 2002, 2004, 2013 and 2015

Valpo03

Question for the board
How many of you go to live events?
Especially interested in the pre 2000 grads
What is your take on game atmosphere etc..?

vu84v2

Quote from: Valpo03 on August 18, 2022, 10:02:32 AM
Question for the board
How many of you go to live events?
Especially interested in the pre 2000 grads
What is your take on game atmosphere etc..?

I assume that you mean live Valpo events.

I am a 1984 grad.
I live in Wisconsin, so I do not go to many live Valpo events and when I do attend it is for basketball. I would attend more events if I lived closer and attend a lot of sporting events for two other universities.
Game atmosphere for Valpo basketball can be great, but it is driven solely by two things: 1. quality of the team, 2. perceived quality of the opponent. For instance, I was at the Saint Mary's NIT game and the Missouri State bracketbuster game and the atmosphere at those games was fantastic - as good or better than the atmosphere at games that I attend for two major conference teams.

crusader05

I'm local and will go to basketball and occasional football games and have even popped in on soccer on occasion.  My thought is that they are fine for what they are. My kids enjoy them, they can see the court and run around and interact with players and the mascot (when one is in attendance).